I’m a Nontrepreneur

or: How I found out once again that we are all hard to be categorised

Lately I’ve been wondering whether I am really the entrepreneur I am priding myself to be.

Growing up in Germany, I was being educated to become employed. It only crossed my mind to start something of my own last year in October, when I was seriously failing in finding a job.

I grew more and more uncomfortable presenting myself in the best light possible. I tweaked my CV to fit the company that I was applying for and it felt weird. I was not lying with the CV. But stressing the strangest areas of my life in order to please their requirements didn’t produce a true picture of myself.

And that’s what I like about entrepreneurship: You can be true to yourself.

Or can you, really?

Although I am confronting myself a lot with entrepreneurship lately, I seem to lack the drive to expand. At Entrepreneur Café Nairobi, some members come to a meeting once and immediately want to make it “a big thing”, get more people, maybe rent a venue, and expand. These things never even crossed my mind. In fact, they sound rather overwhelming to me.

I am generally always very content with my surroundings and circumstances. It’s a mind-set I acquired through practice.

Does that deny me the label of an entrepreneur, that I am trying to wear? Because I don’t strive for more?

At a networking event I wore flat shoes and a knitted jacket, not high heels and a blouse like almost everyone else.

So am I not a proper entrepreneur? Because I don’t wear accordingly?

I took a course on entrepreneurship. They had a great word cloud showing what other participants of the course thought makes an entrepreneur. Creativity is there, and passion. Other words are vision, innovation and determination. They resonate with me. I am definitely creative, currently defining and refining my many passions, and my mum always says that if I want something, I will work hard to get it and make it happen.

That helps.

Maybe I’m not your mama’s entrepreneur, but hey, I am creatively building something at the moment that has to do with my passion and my personal experience.

I want to help others and it’s just that I’m not into fast growth. At all.

That project still sounds very secretive right now, I know. But stay tuned and I will update you here now more regularly.

This is actually a new chapter of this blog. I keep on graduating from life and every day has a new lesson. But now I am moving towards making ends meet, so you will get to read more about the nontrepreneur.

This term has been used in different circumstances.

In my case it means a non-conformal entrepreneur, who does things the way she wants, the way she can handle it and possibly loosing but also learning a lot on the way.

Entrepreneurship means freedom, don’t you think? What kind of entrepreneur are you? Do you think I am one at all? Let me know in the comments below.

Also, let’s stay in contact on Facebook. And for regular updates and exclusive insights, hop on the list and you’ll get a weekly email, with love, straight to your inbox.

3 thoughts on “I’m a Nontrepreneur

Leave a Reply

