Confrontation Therapy: Why I am overexposing myself

and the single one criteria that I use to decide whether to take on a new task or not

Last week I wrote about how broke I am. I have this hippie idea that if I do what I love, money will come later. I am convinced that I am being taken care of and I trust in my own good.

Soul searching

That doesn‘t mean though that I lean back and wait for things to come. After burrowing in for the last six months, learning stuff online and doing some soul searching, it is now time to get out there. Tremendously and without mercy.

The online courses often addressed American women in their thirties to fifties. They are not happy with the kind of life they lead right now and need fundamental change. They have already done and experienced so much that their daily life is cluttered with unnecessary expectations and tasks.

The time is now

I am still at the beginning, not having any commitments whatsoever. Now is the time to plunge in. I am doing so much stuff now: setting up a business of my own, building an online forum for primary teachers, doing the marketing for a social enterprise, following up some proposals for a tree planting project, producing a monthly video for my friends and family, paving the way to go back to Germany, preparing an ecotourism course and an exchange program for agriculture students, initiating Entrepreneur Café and a Live Your Legend Local Meetup in Nairobi.

One single thing that helps me decide

That sounds like a lot. But I deliberately decided to stress myself out. I want to see where my limits are. Under one condition: Doing stuff I love. I love all that I listed above and I consider it the right thing to do. I believe it will not only benefit myself a great deal but also others. And I go with my gut feeling. And that is positive so far.

Throwing myself out there

I have to connect with real people now. Dealing with myself only made me a bit instable, just like playing in a sterilised room all day will make children weak and unfit to go out and face the real world with all its germs. I realised that going out is a challenge for me. The only medicine for that is confrontation therapy. If I commit to do stuff with and for others, there is no other way but to go and do it anyway.

Out of the comfort zone – and back in

I know where my comfort zone ends and I know that it is going to be healthy to leave it every now and then, but I also know how to get back to it when things become rough.

How do you cope? Are you throwing yourself into a similar adventure? What are you involved in?

Let me know in the comments or on facebook. And in order to not miss anything anymore, join the list for love straight to your inbox.

One thought on “Confrontation Therapy: Why I am overexposing myself

Leave a Reply

