Six lessons I learned in August while moving to Kenya

#1

Have you set goals in the beginning of this year? I did.

But what happens when, after half a year, they become irrelevant and you feel lost? I did!

I finished my studies, moved to Kenya and took up blogging again. Bham! Half of my goals reached – in the blink of an eye. Now I’m confused about the rest I set in January, in Sweden.

Goals change in the course of the year, because we change. The world changes. Conditions change. My plans and goals have become very flexible recently, which doesn’t make me less accountable.

I have redesigned my goals until around coming July. Why not make some resolutions now? We don’t need the first of January to be ambitious and motivated!

 

#2

It’s amazing how humans are creatures of habit. At least I am.

When I moved in with A, I thought we would definitely need a tray for the dishes, at least two more basins, a lot more plates, a replacement for the spongy matrass, and maybe a fridge? A very tiny one to fit into our tiny apartment?

Guess what: After the acquirement of exactly two more plates and one table, I am used to store the dishes next to the sink, washing in the only available basin, stretching tactics to make maximum use of the available space on the matrass and cooking for one or maximum two meals, because we can’t store food for long. Delaying a purchase is still the best method to not buying stuff at all.

 

#3

I learned how dangerously fascinating the internet is. Having unlimited wireless internet is indeed a luxury here, until I took it for granted.

As an unemployed housewife trying to take her blog to the next level, I spend hours and days in front of my laptop.

Luckily enough, we have blackouts now and then, which painfully reminds me that there is a life outside the internet, too, and that real inspiration can only come from there.

 

#4

You want to know how a lot of wonderful things happened to me recently? I engaged.

Taking part in a guided tour through City Center did not only tell me many stories that are sleeping behind old buildings, but it also connected me with a very creative film team.

I met old friends and they told me about their projects and where they want to involve me.

I told The Wandering Samaritan about myself, and they might donate some sewing machines for a school that I support.

I took part in some online courses, challenges, seminars and groups, and my head now has a hard time to handle the inspiration overkill because I met these beautiful people who also engage.

It is often hard to leave my comfort zone, and it would be easier to stay at home, but only if I do something, I can trigger something else to happen.

 

#5

Some things have been annoying me, in this new life of mine.

The ants in the kitchen, for instance. The dust resuming territory shortly after I have cleaned the apartment. The Friday night noises on the street downstairs.

But I realised, it’s not the ants or the dust or the noises. I am the problem.

The ants are just walking their usual ways, and the dust just follows gravity, and the people are just behaving like anyone would on a Friday night, having fun.

I am in their way, so I breath, and step aside.

Hello, little ant, you want to crawl over my keyboard here on the laptop? Oh, even my finger? Sure, go ahead, I will let you, and we’ll be friends forever, walking into the sunset…

 

#6

Meanwhile, not worrying too much has continuously been proven to be a very good mind set, or attitude, or strategy. Otherwise, how can I still be sane, in a city like Nairobi, with a Master in journalism and no income?

What have you learned last month? I’d like to hear your lessons in the comments.

Want more? Get weekly updates to your inbox – with love. Or have a look at facebook.

2 thoughts on “Six lessons I learned in August while moving to Kenya

  1. I was sure that your lesson #1 was my favorite, then I read #2. And #3. And… can they all be my favorite? Yes, yes, and yes! Since I moved cross-country (nothing compared to your journey!) with my cat and one carload, I’ve been learning the same lessons (especially about the delayed purchases). And it’s so easy to stay in my house, but as long as I do, I’m not growing much. I’d love to hear more about how you get yourself out in the world, away from the computer! I mean, other than the blackouts. 😉

    Oh, and what did I learn last month? That everyone needs a vacation, even when you love what you do every day.

    • Melissa, I am happy that my lessons – however personal they are – resonate with others. I hope you and the cat are comfy in the new place. And hey, I went out last night and got to know a bus conductor… small but enjoyable success!

Leave a Reply

