Doing comes from doing

How I got back to writing and overcame a lack of inspiration.

Recently I spent five days touring through Italy. I took a break from my thesis and the environment I am used to and went to see friends, eat good food, charge my inner battery in the Italian sun. I spent a lot of time in trains and on airports which was great for writing.

I didn’t carry a laptop. In fact, I traveled with very light luggage. I didn’t check my emails or connect otherwise online. I wrote with a pen in a notebook and was mainly trying to soak up every single moment like a sponge, be there, be with people, let Italy make her impression on me (actually I think it’s more like a him) and dwell in reality without even thinking of sharing the great time I was having online.

Coming back, my thesis awaits me. I now have a tight schedule to follow, I have to squeeze out a lot of words per day in thesis-speak to make me finish this master course. So I think for one day it’s okay if I don’t write. I have a lot of emails to answer, too. I do that on the second day and take it as another excuse for not writing. And before I realize it, I am totally out of the habit of jotting down my five hundred words every morning.

What should I write about anyway? Wasn’t I fine without blogging in Italy? What’s the whole point of it?

Luckily, the internet came along and presented a free three-day course on blogging. The internet knows me very well and understands that I cannot resist those kind of things, especially when I actually should be working on the thesis.

So I got back the motivation to write. But what to write about? Here is what I learned:

Writing comes from writing.

In the course the teacher made us write down anything that came to mind that we could be blogging about. And immediately I put the pen on the paper, ideas began to flow. I started this post without really knowing where it would be going, and here it is, almost finished already.

It’s the same with cooking: If I don’t know what I’ll have for lunch, I start cutting an onion. Then I remember I have some tomato sauce left somewhere. Then I find a piece of cheese in the fridge. Those make me look for the pasta in my cupboard. Cooking comes from cooking.

The same with running. I haven’t been running in a while. Since the weather was so nice yesterday, I had to go for a walk, but I hadn’t much time (the thesis was waiting). So I walked fast. And faster. And I even ran for five minutes because I felt like. Running comes from running.

Reading comes from reading. You will find something in a book, newspaper or blog post that will make you want to read about something else, and so on. Activity comes from activity. If you meet friends once, they might invite you for something else the next week. At an event, you will hear about another event. And so on.

You get the point. Doing comes from doing.

What do YOU want to get back on track with and how? Start doing it – and then let us know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Doing comes from doing

  1. Dear big sister (:
    This is part of my review of the last month concerning our project to become better. I know exactly what you mean. When the weather is not nice (although it´s no excuse for not going out for running) and motivation to get out of my comfort zone is low, it´s hard to start running. But what I always did: just put on your running shoes! Immediately, there is no other way than to go outside 😉
    The same with my studies: I know there is pressure, so that every second in our studio counts. I get really upset recognizing that I wasted time, spending it in the studio without doing something senseful for our project of design. But if there is even no motivation simultaneously, I just have to take a pencil and draw one single line. It could never end like that, the second line follows immediately 🙂

Leave a Reply

